UK Education System


The education in the UK is basically a devolved matter with all other countries that are included in the United Kingdom because every country has different education system. Actually the government of the Scotland is responsible for the education of Scotland and the government of the Northern Ireland is responsible for the Northern Ireland Executives and the government of the Wales is responsible for education of Welsh. The same way the government of the United Kingdom is responsible for the education of the UK.

Usually the students that are studying in England are studying General Certificate of Secondary Education (GCSE) from the age of 15 and the GCSE exams held at the end of the periods. Basically these years are the final years of the high school compulsory education. After that students that study in that school either can leave the schools or go for further studies but mostly students leave the schools and get jobs. Students that wish to go to university have to stay at the same school to attend the college and to complete two years A Level course. When the course of A Level finish then students are allowed for the degree courses at any university in which they can fulfill their entry requirements.

The education is very important in the England and it is also very important in the Wales and Scotland too. According to British rules all the children’s of the Great Britain will have to get education until they are 16 years old. According to the Rules of the British the education in the UK for children of ages 5 to 16 is free and the education can be given at homes. The home education can be provided by the independent schools, state schools or home schooling. With the help of public funds, about 94% of pupils in the country of England and also many other pupils of the UK receive free education.

Actually the education system in the UK is divided into four main parts that primary education, secondary education, further education and higher education. Mostly children’s of the UK have to attend primary and secondary education and according to legal laws a children of age 5 to 16 has to take the education.

Basically the education system in the UK is splitted in the key stages that are as follows

  • Key Stage 1 – 5 to 7 years old
  • Key Stage 2 – 7 to 11 years old
  • Key Stage 3 – 11 to 14 years old
  • Key Stage 4 – 14 to 16 years old

The education of the UK can be classified as

Find here More about UK Education System:

  1. Primary Education in UK
  2. Secondary Education System in UK
  3. Further Education System in UK
  4. Vocational Qualifications in UK
  5. Higher Education System in UK




For more information about study in uk visit here:

About the Author

has written 7395 stories on this site.

Write a Comment

Gravatars are small images that can show your personality. You can get your gravatar for free today!

You must be logged in to post a comment.

Copyright © 2022 Pakistani Education. All rights reserved.    Contact | Register | Lucky Draw | Terms & Conditions
RSS Feed on Twitter